Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?

“Sweet and low, sweet and low
Wind of the western sea;
Low, low, breathe and blow,
Wind of the western sea;
Over the rolling waters go
Come from the dying moon, and blow,
Blow him again to me,
While my little one, while
My pretty one sleeps.”
~Alfred, Lord Tennyson

2015/01/img_0122.jpg

When I was a little girl my bedroom was directly across the hall from that of my parents. My mom would read in bed every night before going to sleep. I remember lying in bed, dreading the click of her lamp and the inevitable darkness that followed. Waiting what seemed like an eternity, but was hopefully a respectable amount of time, I would silently make my way out of bed, cross the frightening hallway abyss and steal into their room. My dad would predictably be deep in sleep. Mom, I’m sure, anticipated my nightly visits. With amazing patience she would lead me back into my room, tuck me back into my bed, stroke my forehead and, in almost a whisper, sing to me the words of Lord Tennyson’s poem above. I would often pretend to fall asleep, knowing that I had punched my ticket for the night and would have to tough it out on my own. I know Mom had to have been tired, but I never once detected even a hint of frustration in her voice or demeanor.

The flight to Singapore went well. I’ve flown to Asia before, but this time seemed strange, having gone east, rather than west, and stopping in Germany first. My iPad had picked up the time in Germany, and at one point during the 10 1/2 leg from Frankfurt to Singapore, I wasn’t sure what time it was where. It was somewhat confusing and altogether surreal.

My winter-parched skin began to hydrate immediately stepping off the plane at Changi Airport. The 77 degrees at 6 AM felt a welcome relief to the 28 degrees Fahrenheit I had left in New York City Saturday evening.

Getting through the first day is always a bit tough, but I now have a good night’s sleep under my belt. We’re off to the Botanical Garden before breakfast. Tomorrow’s flight is to Yangon, and there the fun really begins.

http://kimimilanewyork.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

