Karma Doesn’t Have to be a Bitch

“My actions are my only true belongings. I cannot escape the consequences of my actions. My actions are the ground upon which I stand.
~Thich Nhat Hanh

IMG_0224-2

It’s pretty simple really, this long held belief of karma; the idea that we earn our destiny through our actions and behavior. Whether you believe that what you put out into the universe will affect you in this life or the next, in the end you get back what you give. A positive outlook doesn’t hurt either; very valuable to filter out the unnecessary. This much I have learned in my 57 years.

IMG_0235

Our visit today was to Magwe, a city of nearly 400,000. First stop was at the newly gilded Myathalon Pagoda. It was magnificent. A large family was visiting from the country. Dressed in their finest, they asked Win, our guide, if they might be photographed with our group.

IMG_0233

IMG_0228

Outside we met this group of the Paoh people. They were making a five hundred mile pilgrimage, all 25 of them, in and on this bus, from the far eastern part of the country near the Thai border.

IMG_0231

IMG_0230

We then walked through the market. Once again, the sights and smells were incredible. I loved the “Despicable Me” backpack. I’d wager that most people here don’t have a clue what that is.

IMG_0236-0

IMG_0226-2

IMG_0227-0

I will be filled with mixed emotions as we reach our final mooring tomorrow evening in the ancient city of Bagan. I’m so very excited to experience this wonder, yet this signals the beginning of the end of our journey. Sigh.

Oh, and yes, I feel extremely tall. Judging by the stares I’m getting everywhere we go, I don’t think many of these people have seen a 5’11” woman before. 😊

Leave a Reply

