Humbled

“There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man; true nobility is being superior to your former self.”

― Ernest Hemingway

Lack of time and a good Internet connection have prevented any updates the past few days.  Following my last post, we made a sunrise visit to the Taj Mahal.  It was even more spectacular in the morning light.  The marble changed color as the sun rose higher in the sky, and the semi-precious stones glistened as they reflected it’s light.  I hated to leave.


 We then boarded our bus for the ride to Jaipur.  Four and a half hours on the road have never been so fascinating.   As we entered the state of Rajahstan, the saris worn by women along the roadside changed to hues of yellow, red and saffron.  We passed overcrowded busses, horse carts, red sandstone quarries, camel and markets. Jaipur was (mostly) awesome.  We visited a Maharajah palace and saw elephants on the street



Very early the following day we flew to Kolkata (Calcutta); a city with a population of over 20 million.  They have 80,000 taxis!!  New York has only 13,000, I believe. We visited Mother Therese’s home and orphanage. Miracles happening there.  We boarded our boat and are headed for the Ganges

I have so many awesome photos, which I’m unable to upload. Suffice it to say that I’m overwhelmed (as is the Internet connection I have here on the Ganges.) I’m posting now what I’m able, and will catch up when I can.

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

